Why Granny Lucess wins every time she runs

I love Granny Lucess as much as anyone else.

But when I see Granny Lucess finish a marathon, I’m celebrating because I’m glad she made it. I mean, is anyone really checking the milliseconds on the clock as she canters over the finish line?

What I’m saying is Granny Lucess is basically running a different race to the rest of us. It’s a special category, where the rules are the same but our expectations are different.

And that’s pretty much how I feel about print media. When I hear newspaper colleagues talk about being “first” with a story, I don’t know if to cheer them on or remind them that their competition is, well, Granny Lucess.

Please share your thoughts here.

