Off-season blog-pitching with George Bovell III, Trinidadian Olympic medallist swimmer

George Bovell III, Trinidadian Olympic medallist swimmer. (He is the one with the shades; I

“You should check out my blog,” he said, quietly. “GeorgeBovellSwimming.com.”

I was surprised that he’d beaten me to this shameless blog-pitching one-liner. After all, this was George Bovell III, Trinidadian Olympic medallist swimmer. Who would have guessed that in the off-season this world-class athlete was an avid one-line blog-pitcher?

I mean, this was George! His bronze in Athens in 2004 was the first for the English speaking Caribbean in the Athens 2004 Games, Trinidad and Tobago’s first medal ever in the sport of swimming, and the only medal for Trinidad and Tobago in Athens 2004. He carried the T&T flag at the opening ceremony of the 20th Central American, at the Caribbean Games in Cartagena, Colombia, and at the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

But enough from his Wikipedia page! The fact is this: he is quite likely the first to ever beat ME in the informal but extremely competitive, underground sport of one-line blog-pitching. His technique was superb.

“George,” was his reply, quietly, when I’d introduced myself as a UWI Marketing and Communications Officer. Was it a genuine expression of his total lack of pretentiousness? Or was he, in fact, simply trying to disarm me, lull me into dropping my guard so that he could later pitch his blog before I could pitch mine? Well, was he?

Now, granted, we were among the last few lingering guests pecking at the buffet after the launch of the UWI SPEC International Half-Marathon earlier this week. And to the casual observer, he did appear a lot more interested in the mini-pastelles and the fruit bowl than in my initial icebreaker. But was it all a ploy? Difficult questions that I mused over, as I headed back to my office across the street to browse his blog.

Later, much later, I realised that I actually forgot to pitch my own blog to him. Wow. He IS good! Maybe I need to hit the gym.

I’ll get you next time, George! And nice blog, btw…

One thought on “Off-season blog-pitching with George Bovell III, Trinidadian Olympic medallist swimmer”

Please share your thoughts here.

